MOUNT ZION MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH

The Mount Zion Missionary Church grew out of a mission established by the Sevierville First Baptist Church. In 1944, meeting in a 24'x 30' building, twelve charter members organized, meeting only for Sunday School at first.

Records concerning property purchase: "In 1941, November 25, the church property was purchased and deeded to J. S. Ogle, John Rauhuff, and M. M. Ellis."

Charter members were: Uncle John Rauhuff, Laura Rauhuff, Raymond Sims, Gladys Sims, Mary Shultz, Ethel Ellis, Charlie Rauhuff, Sol Ogle, E. L. Franks, Myrtle Franks, E. L. Franks Jr. and Johnny Rauhuff.

July 14, 1950, church members began building the church with logs donated by Parlin Trentham. Sol Ogle gave logs for pews which Johnny McMahan sawed and brought to the church to be assembled. Bruce Cate, Parlin Trentham, Sol Ogle, John Trentham, and Charlie Rauhuff did the work on the building. When it was completed, it was also debt

free. Reverend J. H. Stogner preached the dedication sermon on Sunday, June 20, 1954.

The Mount Zion Cemetery was laid out in the 60s and later another section of land was added. Mount Zion church takes care of the cemetery.

Pastors from the beginning through 1982: E. L. Franks, Hulett Stogner (twice), M. L. Plemons, Robert McCarter, Otha McCarter, Ray Patterson, Richard Watson, Jack Bailey, Henry Maples, Edward Parton (ordained by the church), Clarence Wilson, Chester Latham, (twice), William Cantrell, L. L. Whaley, Edward Adams, William Parham, and Garland Whaley. Membership at this time is 98.

Deacons ordained at Mount Zion: Parlin Trent ham, Charlie Rauhuff, Cecil Davis, Jasper Cole Sr, Warren Trentham and Tommy McCarter were already deacons when they became members at Mount Zion.

Pastor, Garlon Whaley, 1989.

Information from Darlene McGee and Carol Ford.